[Technique] Ombre Backgrounds with Border Dies by Channin

Hello everyone! It’s Channin here with a new technique video! Today I’m sharing a simple and fun way to create backgrounds that are prefect for framing your stamped images or even large sentiments.

[Technique] Ombre Backgrounds with Border Dies by Channin

Watch below or on our YouTube channel.


Card 1

First I die cut a mask using the scalloped die from the Scenery Die set from some contact paper. I then removed the backing and placed the mask at the upper third of an A2 white card base. I then ink blended a very light layer of WF’s You Said What Dye Ink over the upper portion of the card with a mini ink blending tool. I then removed the mask, re-aligned it and then moved it upward 1/4” and then blended more You Said What to make a slightly darker shade of yellow.

Next, I repeated the process one more time to create a darker third layer. I then flipped my mask around and repeated the whole process again on the lower third of the card. With my back ground complete, I stamped and copic colored images from the Rock On Stamp Set and then die cut them out with the matching dies. Lastly, I adhered the images onto the card front with foam tape.


Card 2

I followed the same process for this second card as I did the first, just using different products. I also cut a mask from contact paper but this time I used the Chunky Chevron Die. I then placed the mask on an A2 card base made from white cardstock and then blended with WF’s New Fish in Pond Dye Ink. I made the 3 layers at the top and bottom portions of my card by sliding the mask up and blending just as I did with the first card.

I then stamped and copic colored an image from the Rock On Stamp Set. I also stamped a sentiment and some music notes from this set on the front of my card with Memento Tuxedo Black. Lastly, I adhered my colored image with foam tape to the front.

I hope you enjoyed! Thanks so much for stopping by!




120002 Ink - Dye - You Said What (yellow) http://waffleflower.com/products/you-said-what

120005 Ink - Dye - New Fish in Pond (aqua) http://waffleflower.com/products/new-fish-in-pond

271143 Rock On Stamp Set (images & sentiments) http://waffleflower.com/products/rock-on-stamp-set

310177 Rock On Matching Die (images & sentiments) http://waffleflower.com/products/rock-on-matching-die

310160 Scenery Die (scalloped background) http://waffleflower.com/products/scenery-die

310053 Chunky Chevron Die (chevron background) http://waffleflower.com/products/chunky-chevron-die